

# **Inaugural meeting minute**

11:00, Tuesday 10 September / Room N, PCH

#### **Attendance**

Abtisam Mohamed MP
Adam Thompson MP
Alex Sobel MP
Andrew Ranger MP
Cat Smith MP
Catherine Fookes MP
Danny Chambers MP
Darren Paffey MP
Ellie Chowns MP
Euan Stainbank MP

Florence Eshalomi MP
James Naish MP
Jeevun Sandher MP
Jessica Toale MP
Joe Powell MP
Lisa Smart MP
Liz Jarvis MP
Lizzi Collinge MP
Martin Wrigley MP
Paul Kohler MP

Richard Quigley MP
Scott Arthur MP
Tom Collins MP
Mark Kieran, Fair Vote
Joe Sousek, Fair Vote
Matt Gallagher, Fair Vote
Sarah Lewis, LDER
Alex Zur-Clark, L4ND

## Welcome, purpose of meeting & introductions

Introductions were made.

#### **Establishing the APPG**

- The numbered items on the registration form were duly discussed, agreed and completed.
- The purpose of the APPG was agreed: To enhance the integrity of UK democracy by: replacing First Past the Post with a proportional electoral system; eliminating dark money and undemocratic influence from politics; countering disinformation in public discourse. The APPG's goal is to deliver clean and fair elections where all votes count.
- The secretariat was decided as Fair Vote UK.
- Officers were elected:
  - Chair: Alex Sobel MP (Labour and Cooperative)
  - Vice-Chair: Lisa Smart MP (Liberal Democrat)
  - Vice-Chair: Lord Balfe (Conservative)
  - Vice-Chair: Ellie Chowns MP (Green)

### Discussion of issues, strategy and plans

- Potential opportunities, approaches and activities were discussed,
- It was agreed that a public launch event should be held later in the year, to be accompanied by a report setting out the state of play and areas of consensus across the three areas.

#### Meeting closed